# The Clearing House picks its pipes: Quant becomes the wiring for a $2 trillion-a-day bank network | tracee Briefings

> The Clearing House named Quant on 24 September to run its tokenized deposit network for up to 25 US banks, but still hasn't named the blockchain underneath.

Source: https://traceegroup.com/briefings/clearing-house-quant-onchain-money-vendor

---

# The vendor blank from June gets filled: Quant becomes the wiring for a bank network moving $2 trillion a day, and no one has named the ledger it runs on.

## One quote. Four moves stacked underneath.

That is a lot of ceremony for a vendor-selection announcement. Strip it and four separate moves sit underneath, one settled, three still open.

## One thing shipped on 24 September. Three things did not.

The Clearing House and Quant made one concrete decision. The rest of the initiative sits exactly where its June launch left it.

One box got checked. The three that decide whether this actually moves money did not.

## Five layers. One of them still has no name on it.

Here is the stack Quant just bought a seat on, and the gap it leaves wide open.

Two things the diagram makes visible:

- The new layer is thin by design. Quant sits between banks' existing claims and existing payment rails. It doesn't hold deposits or issue anything.

- The stack has a hole exactly where a chain fight would go. No consortium chain, no vendor war over which DLT wins, because The Clearing House hasn't picked one.

## Three reasons a vendor pick is bigger than it sounds.

This closes the watchpoint tracee named in June. When The Clearing House's 18 banks announced the initiative on 5 June 2026, tracee flagged vendor selection as the next gating event, expected in the third quarter. Quant's appointment on 24 September lands inside that window, on schedule, which is rarer than it sounds for bank consortium infrastructure.

The Clearing House chose middleware over a chain. Rather than picking or building a single ledger the way Fnality and Partior did for their own member networks, The Clearing House bought an interoperability layer that can sit on top of whichever chains its owner-banks eventually choose. Quant's Overledger business has always sold connective tissue, not a destination; a $2 trillion-a-day payments operator just became its highest-profile reference customer.

The RTP and CHIPS bridge is the real news. Fnality and Partior are closed member networks with no stated bridge into US instant or wholesale payment rails. This is the first tokenized deposit network to name a direct path into both RTP and CHIPS, the two systems that already clear nearly all interbank dollars in the country. That bridge, not the vendor's name, is what a bank treasurer should actually track.

## Five claims on the table. Only one moved the initiative forward.

Rate each piece of the September announcement against what June already established.

- Move

- Status

- Verdict

- Quant named as vendor

- Shipped

- Genuinely new. The one open item from June's launch is now closed.

- RTP / CHIPS connectivity

- Shipped

- Incremental. June already said the network would connect to TCH's own rails. September confirms who does it, not that it does anything new.

- 25 banks

- Exploring

- Overstated. June named 18 institutions. 25 is The Clearing House's ownership count, not a confirmed participant list.

- H1 2027 access

- Pending

- Unchanged. Same date The Clearing House gave in June. No new milestone.

- Underlying DLT platform

- Exploring

- Still open. Nothing in this release names one.

Banks bought an interoperability layer for a network that still has no chain, no live transaction, and the same 2027 date it had in June. The vendor pick is the one line that earns the headline.

## The release answers one question. It raises three more.

- No ledger, no timeline for one. Quant orchestrates across chains; it is not the settlement layer itself. Which DLT will actually carry the tokenized deposit representation is not stated anywhere in the release.

- Twenty-five is an ownership number, not a headcount. The Clearing House is owned by 25 of the largest US banks. June's launch named 18 specific participants. Whether the other owners are active in the pilot or just shareholders is not disclosed.

- Nothing moved today. A vendor contract is not a live transaction. The first real test is whatever happens before the H1 2027 access date, and no interim milestone has been named.

- The regulatory gate hasn't moved either. Tracee's briefing the day before this one covered the Federal Reserve's payment-stablecoin reserve proposal, still not final. The GENIUS Act's finished rulebook and the CLARITY Act's stablecoin-yield prohibition, the two events that actually decide how competitive tokenized deposits are against bank-issued stablecoins, sit exactly where they were in June.

- The market reaction is about Quant, not about banks. QNT's intraday jump on the news is a signal about a crypto token's order book, not evidence that any single bank among The Clearing House's owners has committed engineering resources to this.

## Bank rails and stablecoin rails are now visibly racing each other.

The same week The Clearing House named its vendor, SoFi and Mastercard finished migrating SoFi's entire $25 billion card program to stablecoin settlement using SoFiUSD, live, not exploratory. The two events sit side by side as banks hedge both routes to the same outcome: SoFi moved fast with a bank-issued stablecoin on a public chain; The Clearing House is building slower, consortium-owned infrastructure that keeps deposits as deposits.

Tracee's June briefing on this initiative named GENIUS Act finalization and the CLARITY Act's yield prohibition as the structural gates for tokenized deposits. Neither has moved. The Fed's own reserve and capital proposal for payment stablecoin issuers, covered here the day before this announcement, is still out for comment, which means every rail in this race, bank deposit tokens and bank-issued stablecoins alike, is being built ahead of a finished rulebook.

## The Clearing House picked a business model, not a ledger.

Choosing bank-owned interoperability middleware over a single proprietary chain mirrors how Visa and Mastercard already treat blockchains as plumbing rather than destinations, a defensible choice for an institution answering to 25 shareholders. But vendor selection was always the easiest box on this initiative's list. Naming a ledger, proving more than 18 banks are actually building, and hitting H1 2027 without slipping are the three that decide whether this is infrastructure or another consortium press release.

Watch three things:

- Which DLT gets named. Quant orchestrates; something else has to settle. The first platform The Clearing House names is the real signal.

- A named pilot transaction. Not a press release, an actual interbank movement, ahead of the H1 2027 access date.

- GENIUS Act finalization. The Fed's proposal, still out for comment, has to become a final rule before any bank token, deposit or stablecoin, is building against settled ground.

## Common questions about the On-Chain Money Initiative.

**What did The Clearing House just announce?**

**Is a tokenized deposit network live now?**

**What does Quant's technology actually do in this network?**

**How many banks are actually in the On-Chain Money Initiative?**

**How is a tokenized deposit different from a bank-issued stablecoin like SoFiUSD?**

**What is The Clearing House?**

## Related briefings on the same rails.

[Broadridge brings G7 government debt to its tokenized repo platform: the $7.4 trillion scale was already real, the collateral list just grew.](https://traceegroup.com/briefings/broadridge-dlr-g7-securities-repo)

Broadridge's Distributed Ledger Repo platform, already moving $351 billion a day, added G7 government securities to a collateral list that had been US Treasuries…

[LayerZero and Keeta put tokenized bank deposits on four chains at once, and the bank behind them is an unnamed partner network behind a money transmitter.](https://traceegroup.com/briefings/layerzero-keeta-tokenized-bank-deposits)

Keeta Stablecoins move natively across Keeta Network, Ethereum, Solana and Base via LayerZero's Omnichain Fungible Token standard.

[Eighteen banks, one ledger: Wall Street drafts The Clearing House to tokenize deposits and put stablecoins on notice.](https://traceegroup.com/briefings/clearing-house-tokenized-deposit-network)

Eighteen US banks, including all four systemic institutions, have committed to a shared tokenized deposit network operated by The Clearing House, targeting a…

[Coinbase hands community banks a stablecoin rail: the infrastructure shipped, the customers didn't, and the timing is the real story.](https://traceegroup.com/briefings/coinbase-moov-community-bank-stablecoins)

Coinbase and Moov gave 1,000-plus community banks and credit unions stablecoin payment infrastructure five days before the Senate's Clarity Act cloture vote.

[Pontes stops being a forecast: the ECB's tokenized settlement bridge goes live with 13 banks, and full capability is still two years out.](https://traceegroup.com/briefings/ecb-pontes-goes-live-13-banks)

Pontes went live with 13 banks and four DLT operators settling wholesale tokenised assets in central bank money.

[DBS and Citi move a dollar on a Saturday: Swift's shared ledger proves weekend settlement works, inside a pilot that ends in December.](https://traceegroup.com/briefings/dbs-citi-swift-weekend-payment)

DBS and Citi settled a live USD payment via tokenized deposits on Swift's Digital Ledger in minutes on a Saturday.

## Suggest a news item or request a private briefing.

Public briefings publish on no fixed cadence. Private briefings, written for one institution and one decision, are part of the consulting engagement formats.
