tracee briefing · 26 September 2026 · 7 min read

The vendor blank from June gets filled: Quant becomes the wiring for a bank network moving $2 trillion a day, and no one has named the ledger it runs on.

Published26 September 2026
SourceThe Clearing House / Quant, 24 September 2026
AuthorBassel Assaad, tracee
TagsTokenized deposits · Payment infrastructure · Bank consortia
01 · The raw item

One quote. Four moves stacked underneath.

This marks a defining step in the global transition to programmable money. Tokenized deposits are now the de facto way banks move money on-chain, and The Clearing House sits at the heart of the U.S. banking system, meaning this partnership sets a standard for the rest of the world to follow. Gilbert Verdian, Founder and CEO, Quant · The Clearing House / Quant press release, 24 September 2026

That is a lot of ceremony for a vendor-selection announcement. Strip it and four separate moves sit underneath, one settled, three still open.

02 · What actually happened

One thing shipped on 24 September. Three things did not.

The Clearing House and Quant made one concrete decision. The rest of the initiative sits exactly where its June launch left it.

Shipped Vendor selected. Quant is named as the interoperability, orchestration and transaction-management layer for the On-Chain Money Initiative, wired into The Clearing House's existing RTP and CHIPS rails.
Exploring Underlying ledger. No blockchain or DLT platform has been named. Quant's Overledger connects networks together; it is not itself the chain that will hold a tokenized deposit.
Pending 2027 Bank access. Participating institutions get access in the first half of 2027, the same target The Clearing House set at its June launch. Nothing changes operationally today.
Unverified count 25 banks, or 18. June named 18 specific participants. September's coverage cites 25 banks, which is The Clearing House's full ownership roster, not a confirmed pilot list.

One box got checked. The three that decide whether this actually moves money did not.

03 · The architecture

Five layers. One of them still has no name on it.

Here is the stack Quant just bought a seat on, and the gap it leaves wide open.

Bank money in
18 to 25 US banks
JPMorgan, Citi, Bank of America, Wells Fargo and others; deposits stay each bank's own liability
↓ tokenize the claim
The Clearing House
Network operator · owns RTP and CHIPS · $2T+ moved daily
↓ vendor selected, 24 Sept 2026
Quant / Overledger
Interoperability, orchestration, transaction-management layer
↓ connects into
RTP®
Instant payments, existing rail
CHIPS®
High-value wire settlement, existing rail
↓ underlying ledger
Bank liabilities, unchanged
Not yet named
Which DLT actually hosts the tokenized deposit representation is undisclosed. FDIC-insured deposits stay inside each originating bank; the token is a programmable claim, not new money.

Two things the diagram makes visible:

  • The new layer is thin by design. Quant sits between banks' existing claims and existing payment rails. It doesn't hold deposits or issue anything.
  • The stack has a hole exactly where a chain fight would go. No consortium chain, no vendor war over which DLT wins, because The Clearing House hasn't picked one.
04 · Why it matters

Three reasons a vendor pick is bigger than it sounds.

This closes the watchpoint tracee named in June. When The Clearing House's 18 banks announced the initiative on 5 June 2026, tracee flagged vendor selection as the next gating event, expected in the third quarter. Quant's appointment on 24 September lands inside that window, on schedule, which is rarer than it sounds for bank consortium infrastructure.

The Clearing House chose middleware over a chain. Rather than picking or building a single ledger the way Fnality and Partior did for their own member networks, The Clearing House bought an interoperability layer that can sit on top of whichever chains its owner-banks eventually choose. Quant's Overledger business has always sold connective tissue, not a destination; a $2 trillion-a-day payments operator just became its highest-profile reference customer.

Quant did not win a chain war. It won the right to translate between however many chains banks eventually pick and the rails that already move nearly every dollar in the US banking system.

The RTP and CHIPS bridge is the real news. Fnality and Partior are closed member networks with no stated bridge into US instant or wholesale payment rails. This is the first tokenized deposit network to name a direct path into both RTP and CHIPS, the two systems that already clear nearly all interbank dollars in the country. That bridge, not the vendor's name, is what a bank treasurer should actually track.

05 · New vs. incremental

Five claims on the table. Only one moved the initiative forward.

Rate each piece of the September announcement against what June already established.

Move Status Verdict
Quant named as vendor Shipped Genuinely new. The one open item from June's launch is now closed.
RTP / CHIPS connectivity Shipped Incremental. June already said the network would connect to TCH's own rails. September confirms who does it, not that it does anything new.
25 banks Exploring Overstated. June named 18 institutions. 25 is The Clearing House's ownership count, not a confirmed participant list.
H1 2027 access Pending Unchanged. Same date The Clearing House gave in June. No new milestone.
Underlying DLT platform Exploring Still open. Nothing in this release names one.

Banks bought an interoperability layer for a network that still has no chain, no live transaction, and the same 2027 date it had in June. The vendor pick is the one line that earns the headline.

06 · The honest limits

The release answers one question. It raises three more.

  • No ledger, no timeline for one. Quant orchestrates across chains; it is not the settlement layer itself. Which DLT will actually carry the tokenized deposit representation is not stated anywhere in the release.
  • Twenty-five is an ownership number, not a headcount. The Clearing House is owned by 25 of the largest US banks. June's launch named 18 specific participants. Whether the other owners are active in the pilot or just shareholders is not disclosed.
  • Nothing moved today. A vendor contract is not a live transaction. The first real test is whatever happens before the H1 2027 access date, and no interim milestone has been named.
  • The regulatory gate hasn't moved either. Tracee's briefing the day before this one covered the Federal Reserve's payment-stablecoin reserve proposal, still not final. The GENIUS Act's finished rulebook and the CLARITY Act's stablecoin-yield prohibition, the two events that actually decide how competitive tokenized deposits are against bank-issued stablecoins, sit exactly where they were in June.
  • The market reaction is about Quant, not about banks. QNT's intraday jump on the news is a signal about a crypto token's order book, not evidence that any single bank among The Clearing House's owners has committed engineering resources to this.
07 · Macro context

Bank rails and stablecoin rails are now visibly racing each other.

The same week The Clearing House named its vendor, SoFi and Mastercard finished migrating SoFi's entire $25 billion card program to stablecoin settlement using SoFiUSD, live, not exploratory. The two events sit side by side as banks hedge both routes to the same outcome: SoFi moved fast with a bank-issued stablecoin on a public chain; The Clearing House is building slower, consortium-owned infrastructure that keeps deposits as deposits.

Tracee's June briefing on this initiative named GENIUS Act finalization and the CLARITY Act's yield prohibition as the structural gates for tokenized deposits. Neither has moved. The Fed's own reserve and capital proposal for payment stablecoin issuers, covered here the day before this announcement, is still out for comment, which means every rail in this race, bank deposit tokens and bank-issued stablecoins alike, is being built ahead of a finished rulebook.

Two systems are converging on the same problem, programmable dollars, from opposite starting points: one keeps money inside deposit accounts, the other turns it into a token. Neither waited for the regulator to finish before shipping.
08 · Bottom line

The Clearing House picked a business model, not a ledger.

Choosing bank-owned interoperability middleware over a single proprietary chain mirrors how Visa and Mastercard already treat blockchains as plumbing rather than destinations, a defensible choice for an institution answering to 25 shareholders. But vendor selection was always the easiest box on this initiative's list. Naming a ledger, proving more than 18 banks are actually building, and hitting H1 2027 without slipping are the three that decide whether this is infrastructure or another consortium press release.

Watch three things:

  • Which DLT gets named. Quant orchestrates; something else has to settle. The first platform The Clearing House names is the real signal.
  • A named pilot transaction. Not a press release, an actual interbank movement, ahead of the H1 2027 access date.
  • GENIUS Act finalization. The Fed's proposal, still out for comment, has to become a final rule before any bank token, deposit or stablecoin, is building against settled ground.
Frequently asked

Common questions about the On-Chain Money Initiative.

What did The Clearing House just announce?
On 24 September 2026, The Clearing House named Quant Network as the technology partner for its On-Chain Money Initiative. Quant supplies the interoperability, orchestration and transaction-management layer that will let banks clear and settle tokenized deposit transactions, connecting into The Clearing House's existing RTP and CHIPS payment rails.
Is a tokenized deposit network live now?
No. September's announcement is a vendor contract, not a working system. Participating institutions are expected to gain access in the first half of 2027, the same target The Clearing House set when it first announced the initiative in June 2026.
What does Quant's technology actually do in this network?
Quant's Overledger platform is a connective and orchestration layer, not a blockchain itself. It coordinates clearing and settlement of tokenized deposit transactions across whatever ledgers banks eventually use, and connects to existing fiat payment systems including RTP and CHIPS. No underlying DLT platform has been named for where the tokenized deposits themselves will be represented.
How many banks are actually in the On-Chain Money Initiative?
The Clearing House's June 2026 launch named 18 specific participants, including JPMorgan, Citi, Bank of America and Wells Fargo. September's coverage widely cites 25 banks, which corresponds to The Clearing House's full ownership roster rather than a confirmed, expanded pilot list; the release does not itemize which owner-banks are actively building.
How is a tokenized deposit different from a bank-issued stablecoin like SoFiUSD?
A tokenized deposit is a programmable representation of a claim that stays on the issuing bank's own balance sheet and remains FDIC-insured. A bank-issued stablecoin such as SoFiUSD is a separate token issued under the GENIUS Act framework, redeemable but not itself a deposit. The Clearing House's initiative keeps money inside deposit accounts; stablecoin issuance turns it into a distinct instrument.
What is The Clearing House?
The Clearing House is a US payments company owned by 25 of the country's largest banks. It operates RTP, the real-time payments network, and CHIPS, the high-value wire settlement system used for interbank transfers, moving more than $2 trillion a day between them.
Keep reading

Related briefings on the same rails.

Explore all briefings
Broadridge Distributed Ledger Repo cover art, 'More collateral, same rail': G7 government debt joins US Treasuries as eligible collateral, $351 billion processed daily on the platform in August 2026
Infrastructure · Tokenized repo / 7 September 2026 / 7 min read
Broadridge brings G7 government debt to its tokenized repo platform: the $7.4 trillion scale was already real, the collateral list just grew.
From: Broadridge Financial Solutions, 2 September 2026.

Broadridge's Distributed Ledger Repo platform, already moving $351 billion a day, added G7 government securities to a collateral list that had been US Treasuries…

Read briefing
Tracee briefing cover, 'Four chains, an unnamed bank': LayerZero and Keeta connect tokenized bank deposits across four blockchains, with the banking counterparties backing them left undisclosed.
Infrastructure · Tokenized Deposits / 25 July 2026 / 6 min read
LayerZero and Keeta put tokenized bank deposits on four chains at once, and the bank behind them is an unnamed partner network behind a money transmitter.
From: LayerZero / Keeta announcement, 23 July 2026, covered by The Block.

Keeta Stablecoins move natively across Keeta Network, Ethereum, Solana and Base via LayerZero's Omnichain Fungible Token standard.

Read briefing
Tracee briefing cover, 'Eighteen banks, one ledger': Wall Street drafts The Clearing House to tokenize deposits.
Banking infrastructure / 06 June 2026 / 7 min read
Eighteen banks, one ledger: Wall Street drafts The Clearing House to tokenize deposits and put stablecoins on notice.
From: CoinDesk / Wall Street Journal, 5 June 2026: JPMorgan, Citi, BofA, Wells Fargo and 14 other US banks plan a…

Eighteen US banks, including all four systemic institutions, have committed to a shared tokenized deposit network operated by The Clearing House, targeting a…

Read briefing
Tracee briefing cover, 'The rail is ready, the banks are not': Coinbase and Moov ship stablecoin infrastructure for more than 1,000 institutions, with no named live bank customer yet.
Infrastructure · Stablecoin payments / 11 September 2026 / 7 min read
Coinbase hands community banks a stablecoin rail: the infrastructure shipped, the customers didn't, and the timing is the real story.
From: Coinbase blog, 10 September 2026.

Coinbase and Moov gave 1,000-plus community banks and credit unions stablecoin payment infrastructure five days before the Senate's Clarity Act cloture vote.

Read briefing
Infrastructure · Central bank money / 22 September 2026 / 7 min read
Pontes stops being a forecast: the ECB's tokenized settlement bridge goes live with 13 banks, and full capability is still two years out.
From: European Central Bank, 21 September 2026.

Pontes went live with 13 banks and four DLT operators settling wholesale tokenised assets in central bank money.

Read briefing
Tracee briefing cover, 'Banks closed, ledger open': DBS and Citi settle one live dollar payment on Swift's Digital Ledger on a Saturday, in a pilot that runs until December 2026.
Infrastructure · Cross-border payments / 15 September 2026 / 6 min read
DBS and Citi move a dollar on a Saturday: Swift's shared ledger proves weekend settlement works, inside a pilot that ends in December.
From: CoinDesk, DBS and Citi execute first weekend cross-border payment on Swift ledger, 7 September 2026.

DBS and Citi settled a live USD payment via tokenized deposits on Swift's Digital Ledger in minutes on a Saturday.

Read briefing
Want briefings like this on your desk first?

Suggest a news item or request a private briefing.

Public briefings publish on no fixed cadence. Private briefings, written for one institution and one decision, are part of the consulting engagement formats.

Book a discovery call