tracee briefing · 7 September 2026 · 7 min read

Broadridge just added G7 government debt to its tokenized repo rail: the platform moving $351 billion a day did not need the announcement to already be real.

Published7 September 2026
SourceBroadridge Financial Solutions, 2 September 2026
AuthorBassel Assaad, tracee
TagsTokenized repo · Collateral markets · Settlement infrastructure
Broadridge Distributed Ledger Repo cover art, 'More collateral, same rail': G7 government debt joins US Treasuries as eligible collateral, $351 billion processed daily on the platform in August 2026
01 · The raw item

Broadridge's own line is a rebuttal to every headline still calling tokenization a pilot.

Tokenized financing and collateral markets are not a future-state concept. Through DLR, they are proven market infrastructure operating at scale today. Horacio Barakat, Global Head of Digital Innovation, Broadridge Financial Solutions · Press release, 2 September 2026

Broadridge picked the same week to widen what its platform can actually hold. The scale claim was already earned; the collateral list is what changed.

02 · What actually happened

Four claims in one release, rated against what DLR could already do before 2 September.

The wording claims a lot at once. Rating each piece against what DLR already ran narrows it to one real change.

Claim Status Verdict
DLR now accepts G7 government securities as repo collateral, not only US Treasuries Shipped The actual news. Broadridge's global expansion adds sovereign debt from Group of Seven governments to a collateral list that had been Treasury-only since DLR's 2021 launch.
DLR is proven infrastructure, not a pilot Shipped True, and not new this week. DLR processed $7.4 trillion across August 2026 alone, five years after its first live transaction.
Firms can execute cross-border repo, intraday repo, and collateral moves across G7 markets via atomic settlement Shipped Broadens reach, per the release. Broadridge does not disclose which G7 countries' securities are live at launch versus phased in later.
New bank clients are using the G7 collateral capability Undisclosed Unconfirmed. The only participants Broadridge names, UBS and Societe Generale, were already active on the platform before this announcement.

One collateral category joined the list. Everything else the release describes was already how DLR worked.

03 · The architecture

One rail, a longer collateral list, and a participant roster that predates the announcement.

Strip the "global expansion" framing and the change is narrow: one platform, one new category of eligible collateral, no new mechanism.

The rail
Distributed Ledger Repo (DLR)
Broadridge's tokenized repo platform, live since June 2021, processed $7.4T in August 2026
↓ collateral eligible for repo, intraday repo, and pledges, settled atomically
US Treasuries
Original collateral scope since DLR's 2021 launch
G7 government securities
Added 2 September 2026, country-level breakdown undisclosed
↓ confirmed bank participants, platform-wide, not specific to the G7 expansion
UBS
First large bank to adopt DLR
Societe Generale
Confirmed active participant
Further participants
Broadridge has said onboarding is underway toward a double-digit count this year
↓ runs on
The ledger
Canton Network
DLT Broadridge migrated DLR onto in 2023, after launching on VMware's blockchain
  • The G7 label is the only new input. Atomic settlement, cross-border repo, and intraday collateral moves were already how DLR handled Treasuries.
  • Canton is the thread that connects this to the rest of tracee's repo coverage. The network is the same one HIFI, DRW, and Marex used for a very different kind of repo trade.
04 · Why it matters

The scale was never the open question. What DLR can hold as collateral is.

DLR's scale stopped being a question years ago. Tokenized repo passed the pilot stage on this platform specifically: DLR moved $365 billion a day in January 2026, a 508 percent jump from January 2025, and averaged $351 billion a day across August. What Broadridge announced this week is not that the rail works. It is that the rail now accepts a second class of collateral.

Widening that list matters more than the release states plainly. A desk can only tokenize what Broadridge has approved. Restricting DLR to US Treasuries limited its use outside dollar markets: a European or Japanese desk financing its own government's debt had no reason to route the trade through a Treasury-only rail. G7 eligibility turns DLR into infrastructure a non-US desk can use for its own book, not just a venue for parking Treasuries.

DLR did not need G7 collateral to prove tokenized repo works. It needed G7 collateral to be useful outside the US Treasury market.

The contrast with tracee's other repo coverage is the real story. HIFI, DRW, and Marex proved a stablecoin can settle the cash leg of a repo trade on Canton. Broadridge proves the opposite path was never necessary: five years of production volume on the same network, settled in ordinary cash, with no stablecoin anywhere in the mechanism.

06 · The honest limits

A collateral list is not a client list. Five things the release does not say.

  • No country breakdown. Broadridge names "G7 securities" without specifying which of the seven governments' debt is live at launch versus phased in later.
  • No new client for the new capability. UBS and Societe Generale are confirmed DLR participants, but neither is cited using G7 collateral specifically; the roster predates this announcement.
  • The volume figures are platform-wide. The $351 billion daily average and $7.4 trillion August total describe all of DLR, not the new collateral type; there is no separate figure for G7-collateralized trades.
  • It is a vendor press release. No regulator, exchange, or independent auditor has confirmed the scope or volume claims; Broadridge (NYSE: BR) is reporting on its own product.
  • It says nothing about stablecoins. DLR settles the cash leg in ordinary money, so this does not bear on GENIUS Act compliance or the settlement-risk questions tracee's stablecoin-settled repo pieces engage with.
07 · Macro context

Three infrastructure bets are running in parallel on tokenized repo, and only one skips the stablecoin.

tracee's HIFI, DRW, and Marex briefing covered the first competitive onchain repo trade on Canton, US Treasuries settled against a stablecoin, USDCx, in June 2026. Broadridge runs on the same network and settles the same asset class, without a stablecoin anywhere in the chain. The two are not competing claims about which technology works; they are different answers to who holds the cash leg.

Progmat's JGB repo took a third route inside Japan: it moved the country's tokenized securities platform off Corda and onto Avalanche, then assembled 40 institutions to settle $1.6 trillion in JGB repo using stablecoins. The Clearing House's tokenized deposit network, 18 US banks committed to an H1 2027 launch, has not picked a vendor yet. Broadridge's pitch to that cohort is straightforward: DLR already runs in production, on real participant volume, without anyone needing to build new deposit-token infrastructure first.

HIFI, Progmat, and Broadridge are three separate bets on how tokenized repo settles its cash leg. Only one of the three needed a stablecoin to get there.
08 · Bottom line

Whether tokenized repo works was settled years ago. Whether this rail reaches past Treasuries is the open question now.

Broadridge's G7 expansion is a real, incremental move: genuinely new collateral eligibility, delivered by a platform that did not need to prove anything about scale. $7.4 trillion in monthly volume and a fifth year in production settle the question of whether tokenized repo works. The G7 announcement answers a narrower one: whether the rail can hold more than US Treasuries. On paper, it can. Broadridge has not yet shown who is actually using it that way.

Watch three things:

  • Whether Broadridge discloses a country-by-country breakdown or a volume figure specific to G7 collateral in its next growth update, the only way to tell the expansion from a scope announcement.
  • Whether the participant roster grows past UBS and Societe Generale toward the double-digit count Broadridge has said it expects this year.
  • Whether The Clearing House's 18-bank deposit network picks Canton, or any DLR-adjacent infrastructure, once it selects a vendor ahead of its H1 2027 launch.
Frequently asked

Common questions about Broadridge's Distributed Ledger Repo and the G7 collateral expansion.

What did Broadridge announce about its tokenized repo platform?
On 2 September 2026, Broadridge Financial Solutions announced that its Distributed Ledger Repo (DLR) platform now accepts G7 government securities as collateral for repo transactions, intraday repo, and collateral pledges, expanding beyond the US Treasuries it had supported exclusively since launch. Broadridge describes DLR as the world's largest institutional platform for settling tokenized real assets, processing an average of $351 billion in daily volume in August 2026.
Is Broadridge's Distributed Ledger Repo really live, or is this a pilot?
It is live production infrastructure, not a pilot. DLR launched in June 2021 and has run continuously since, migrating from VMware's blockchain to the Canton Network in 2023. Confirmed bank participants include UBS, the first large bank to adopt the platform, and Societe Generale, with Broadridge stating it expects the participant count to reach double digits this year.
How does the G7 securities expansion actually work?
DLR uses distributed ledger technology and smart contracts on Canton to synchronize the movement of tokenized securities and cash for repo trades, atomically. The expansion widens eligible collateral from US Treasuries to government securities from the other Group of Seven economies, supporting cross-border repo, intraday repo, and collateral movements across more currencies and jurisdictions. Broadridge does not specify which countries' securities are live at launch versus phased in.
What are the limits of this announcement?
Broadridge did not disclose a country-by-country breakdown of eligible G7 securities, did not name any client using the new collateral type specifically, and the widely cited $351 billion daily and $7.4 trillion monthly figures describe the whole platform, not volume attributable to G7 collateral. It is a vendor press release, not a regulatory filing, and describes traditional cash-for-securities repo, not a stablecoin-settled mechanism.
Where can I read the original source?
This briefing decodes Broadridge Financial Solutions' press release, "Broadridge Brings G7 Securities to Institutional Tokenized Repo," distributed via PR Newswire on 2 September 2026, cross-referenced with specialist coverage from Ledger Insights, Finadium, Finextra, and Markets Media the same week.
Keep reading

Related briefings on the same rails.

Explore all briefings
Infrastructure · Stablecoin reserves / 15 August 2026 / 7 min read
Tether crosses from attested to audited: KPMG confirms $141 billion in Treasuries and a $6.814 billion buffer, and the report itself stays private.

KPMG issued an unqualified opinion on Tether International's FY2025 financial statements, its first full audit after two years of quarterly attestations, confirming…

Read briefing
Infrastructure · Treasury Settlement / 26 July 2026 / 6 min read
BNY tested a Treasury settlement after Fedwire's daily close, using two stablecoin issuers whose reserves it already custodies on both sides of the trade.

BNY moved Treasury-backed reserves tied to Ripple's RLUSD and OpenEden's USDO after Fedwire Securities Service's daily close.

Read briefing
Infrastructure · Kinexys / 09 August 2026 / 6 min read
Schroders tokenises a money market fund on J.P. Morgan's rails: Kinexys becomes infrastructure for hire.

The Central Bank of Ireland approved Schroders' SOAR share class, a tokenised money market fund built on J.P. Morgan's Kinexys platform.

Read briefing
Infrastructure · Tokenized Deposits / 25 July 2026 / 6 min read
LayerZero and Keeta put tokenized bank deposits on four chains at once, and the bank behind them is an unnamed partner network behind a money transmitter.

Keeta Stablecoins move natively across Keeta Network, Ethereum, Solana and Base via LayerZero's Omnichain Fungible Token standard.

Read briefing
Infrastructure · Bank stablecoin distribution / 28 August 2026 / 7 min read
Standard Chartered becomes the first bank distributor of HKDAP: Hong Kong licensed two stablecoin issuers, and Standard Chartered already owned one of them.

Standard Chartered announced it is the first bank distributor of HKDAP, Hong Kong's first regulated HKD stablecoin.

Read briefing
Infrastructure · Central bank money / 6 September 2026 / 7 min read
ECB sets a go-live date for tokenized central bank money: Project Pontes answers Schnabel's Jackson Hole warning.

ECB Executive Board member Isabel Schnabel told Jackson Hole that central banks must put their own money on-chain or lose the settlement layer to dollar stablecoins.

Read briefing
Want briefings like this on your desk first?

Suggest a news item or request a private briefing.

Public briefings publish on no fixed cadence. Private briefings, written for one institution and one decision, are part of the consulting engagement formats.

Book a discovery call